Review + Giveaway: Lord Of The Sea by Danelle Harmon

Happy Friday Readers! Today, I am reviewing Danelle Harmon’s NEW book Lord Of the Sea. This is Ms. Haromon’s newest book in 12 years, and in one word it is FANTASTIC!!  Check out my review below, leave a comment with your email and you could win an digital copy of this book! For more chances to win visit Rakes, Rogues and Romance and leave a comment.

Official Blurb: Captain Connor Merrick’s thirst for danger has brought him fame and fortune as one of the most brazenly successful privateers of the War of 1812. But deep beneath his swagger, derring-do and charm, the handsome American captain is hiding a devastating secret, and he’ll go to any lengths to protect it . . .

A Beauty Who Gets More Than She Bargained For. . . .

Rhiannon Evans has longed for an adventure—and a mysterious, dangerous man to sweep her off her feet. While enroute to the tropical paradise of Barbados, she never dreams that her heart will be captured by the dashing American privateer who rescues her from bloodthirsty pirates. Only Rhiannon can see beneath Connor’s reckless façade to the man beneath. But when tragedy strikes, can Rhiannon’s love save Connor from himself? Or will the secret he guards so carefully, end up being the undoing of them both?

988804_10202889596143738_1056727424_nReview: I was hesitant to read Lord Of The Sea. I have never been a fan of stories that involve ships, pirates, privateers and the high seas. It really has never been my kind of story, however, Danelle Harmon has proved me wrong not only did I like Lord Of The Sea, I LOVED it and look forward to going back and reading her back list.

Watch out Captain Jack Sparrow via Johnny Depp, Captain Connor Merrick is one American privateer who makes sailing the high seas sexy. Connor is a straight shooter who goes out there and gets the job done. There is nothing that will frighten Connor when sailing his beloved ship the Kestrel, the ship his father the legendary Brendan Merrick built and sailed before him. He will go out and seize every ship that the British Navy owns- no matter that his brother-in-law is an Admiral in the Royal Navy. The winds begin to change when he meets the young Welshwoman Rhiannon Evans. The fear of his shortfalls that he has kept locked away may encourage this adventurous privateer to become reckless, costing him more than he could ever imagine.

Born and raised in Britain, Rhiannon Evans yearns for adventure and is bound to get it one way or another. Luckily for her, she has a very attractive American privateer to guide her in adventures that she could have never dreamed of. When the attraction grows and blooms into a romance she has always dreamed of, she will find the strength that has been buried to fight for what she truly believes. When an adventure turns into a catastrophe, Rhiannon finds her voice and nothing will stop her from protecting the ones she loves.

I don’t even know where to start to tell you how amazing this story is. Ms. Harmon writes a story that leaves you on the edge of your seat not wanting to turn the page but at the same dying to turn the page, to see what happens next. I have never had so many moments where I lost my breath and prayed that on the next page I would find it. There is adventure, romance, humor, heartbreak and even death. Yes, you read correctly; there is death. The cast of characters are phenomenal which enriches this adventurous romantic story. What makes these characters and story remarkable is the way they are ruled by loyalty to family and loyalty to country, and doing what’s best for both is not always the easiest decision.

I recommend this book to anyone who loves a story full of adventure, romance and heart-stopping breathless moments. You won’t be disappointed.

Welcome back Ms. Harmon! I applaud you in writing a fantastic book that has made this non-lover of ships, pirates and privateers want to go and read them! I hope to see more stories from you in the future.

Purchase Lord Of The Sea and other books by Danelle Harmon on AMAZON and B&N.

-Romance Reader Girl

36 thoughts on “Review + Giveaway: Lord Of The Sea by Danelle Harmon

  1. Romance Reader Girl, you won’t be disappointed with Danielle’s previous books (her entire library, not just the Sea ones her de Montforte brothers series is also excellent). I’m not big on sea faring novels, but I adore hers!! Thanks for the excellent review — though I am scared about the death part. 😦

    Thanks again!

    Merry Christmas!

    • Hi Glenda,

      Thanks for the recommendation! I am going to be spending part of the holiday reading Danelle’s backlist. I am really looking forward to it.

      This book is wonderful. You might be scared by the death part but you’re also intrigued (I hope).

      Thank you for posting a comment. I will post winners on Sunday. 🙂

      • I am intrigued. Even being worried about the death won’t keep me from reading Lord of the Sea or any of Danielle’s future books. 🙂

  2. Ohhhh, Lindsey …. I was up until 3am last night, wrapping up some things for this book, and the first things I saw when I got up — less than an hour ago, I confess — were your, Nancy’s, and Mel’s blog posts … my heart is singing like a bird this morning, and I can’t thank you enough for the wonderful review of LORD OF THE SEA. It is such an honor to be featured on your blogs, and such a joy to come here and see so many kind comments. Yes, there is indeed death in this book — but there is also absolution, and the story wrote itself as it needed to be told. I cried while writing it, and it probably took more out of me than any other book I’ve ever written. I hope that your readers will enjoy it, and I’m so, so very glad to be back after twelve years of, with the exception of the novella I put out earlier this year, “being away!” Hugs all around!

  3. Most excited to read the next instalment of the Kestrel and the love-affairs floating around her!! Awesome review – whetted my appetite for another happy devouring of a super book!

  4. I finished reading Lord of the Sea last night. After reading all of Danelle’s books this one was fantastic. So happy she decided to write again. Meeting old characters again, I cried like a baby, but it was a good cry! Danelle, thank you for this book. I still can’t get it off of my mind. I’m just sorry I don’t have anymore of her books to read. I’ll be waiting for the next one!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Susan. If it’s any consolation, I cried, too … those three were my favorite characters of all I’ve ever worked with, and I’ll miss them dearly. I’m planning to write Del’s book, next. 🙂 He needs a female version of Connor to shake the stuffing out of him, I think!

Leave a Reply

