Author Interview: Christy English

Hi Readers,  Today I have the sweet Christy English on my blog chatting about what inspires her to write, who are some of her favorite romantic duo’s and some of her favorite things. Please welcome, Christy English!

RRG: I love the calibration of Shakespeare in your stories, what inspired you to do that?
CE: I wrote HOW TO TAME A WILLFULL WIFE, and even revised it three times before I realized that I was telling the story of The Taming of the Shrew. Or re-telling it, I should say, because I was never satisfied with the Shakespearean version, where Kate is conquered in the end, winking at the audience in her obedience perhaps, but obedient all the same. I have always loved, strong, self-motivated women and the men who are strong enough to love them back. Once I realized that Caroline and Anthony were re-living Shrew to suit my own pleasure, Midsummer and Much Ado followed easily.

Shakespeare stole so many of his own plots, I hope he wouldn’t mind me pilfering from him.

RRG: What made you decide to sit down and start writing?
CE: I don’t think I ever decided to write. Characters have been showing up in my head all of my life, and when I turned 27 and was no longer doing quite as much acting as I had in my youth, the characters and their stories kept coming to me anyway. So I wrote them down in an effort to find out who they were, what they meant to me, basically as a way to clear my head. But write just one, and more will come. Thank God. I’m really grateful that they still keep showing up.

RRG: Who is in control- You or your characters?
CE: I am lucky in that we both are. Ultimately, the decisions are mine. I am the one who has to do the coolie labor of sitting in the chair, writing and revising, getting everything right. But the plots and the dialogue come from them: they know what’s going on in their lives, though they don’t always realize what the reader wants to know about their stories. That’s for me to ferret out, and the questions my editor asks always help illuminate it as well. Between the three of us, me, my characters, and my editor, we come up with some fun books. That’s the goal, at least. For my characters to find true love, and for the reader to have a good time watching them do it.

RRG: Where is one place in the world that you would love to visit?
CE: I would love to visit the rolling hills of Shropshire, just along the border of North Wales. I would love to walk along the river Severn, and see that beauty for myself. Anthony lives there, and so does Angelique. They make their home in that beautiful place, and I would love someday to see it for myself.

RRG: Who are some of your favorite heroes and heroines in romance novels?
CE: There are so many that it’s hard to name just a few…lately I have become enamored with the lords in Grace Burrowes’ fabulous Regency Lonely Lords novels, and Shana Galen’s Regency spy series always keeps me on the edge of my seat.

5165YaeQEqL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_RRG: Can you tell us a little about your next release, MUCH ADO ABOUT JACK out in February? Which I must say has a very HOT cover.
CE: Whew! That cover is hot, right? Amazing! I am always so impressed by all that the art department does at Sourcebooks, but this one takes the cake. I am thrilled with this cover. And who wouldn’t be?

In MUCH ADO ABOUT JACK, Anthony’s abandoned mistress Angelique Beachamp, finds true love of her own, against her will and better judgment. Her lover, “Jack” James Montgomery is a Scot, and determined, a man who simply won’t take no for an answer. She falls in love with him in spite of herself, and learns to trust her instincts about men again, and learns to trust that he means what he says: when James says he loves her, he means forever.

Favorites!
Quote: “Write what you love.” I don’t know who said it, but it is a deep and abiding truth. If I don’t love what I’m writing, no one will love reading it.

Season: Autumn. For some reason, fall feels not like an ending to me, but a beginning. I love watching the leaves change, the brilliant colors of gold and red that fire the mountains where I live. So much beauty is always inspiring.

Dessert: Chocolate Mousse. Enough said.

Vacation Destination: I would say the mountains, but I live here now, so I have to say the seashore. My hometown of Wilmington, NC to be exact. I love to visit my family and friends, and then turn around and come home again.

Animal: Little white cats, who sleep on a pillow while you work and who wake up in time to beg for tuna.

Thank you so much for hosting me, Lindsey. I love talking to you about my work. You make thinking about my books so much fun!

Thank you Christy for taking time out your day to answer these questions. Readers, please check out her books you can find them on Amazon and B&N. Also, connect with Christy via her website, Facebook or Twitter

13507430 15942620

-Romance Reader Girl

22 thoughts on “Author Interview: Christy English

  1. Oh two of my favorite people in the whole world!! What could be better! I LOVED Jack and Angelique! Christy you know how I feel about you and your books!! Can’t wait for the release!! Shared and tweeted

  2. Thank you Lindsey for some great questions and Christi for some fascinating answers!

    Christi, I’ve visited Shropshire many times and it is a beautiful county. If you ever visit there, you must see the towns of Ludlow and Shrewsbury.

    I have How To Tame a Wilful Wife and I’ve just bought book 2. I don’t think I will be able to resist Jack either, not with such a delicious cover!

  3. Oh my gosh!!!! Hi Christy!! I’ve been waiting for Jack’s book forever!!! Well since I first laid eyes on the cover during its making process. It’s so great to have you here talking about your series~ Looking forward to it in February.

Leave a Reply

