Review: When the Rogue Returns by Sabrina Jeffries

Official Blurb: Victor Cale never imagined that his sweet, shy bride, Isabella, would use her talents for creating exquisite imitation jewels criminally. But there’s no denying that her handiwork was used in the theft of the Dutch royal diamonds– right after Isa disappeared into the night.

Ten years later, Victor is sent to Edinburgh to investigate a wealthy baron’s mysterious bride-to-be… who turns out to be Isa, masquerading as an alluring widow. No longer the meek girl he once knew, Isa boldly asserts that it was Victor who abandoned her, after he helped steal the royal diamonds!

Piecing together the truth of the past reawakens their volatile passions, which burns hotter than ever. But with a decade of secrets between them, Victor and Isa must trust each other to bring the real thieves to justice– without getting burned themselves.

18144046My Thoughts: I am a big Sabrina Jeffries fan. I have read ALL of her books and not only have I read them I have a good dozen or so on audio. I loved the plot of this story. Isabella (Isa) and Victor Cale were a young married couple torn apart by Isa’s greedy sister and brother-in-law. The lies her family tell her about Victor makes her strong to flee to Scotland when she finds out she is pregnant. While Isa is starting a new life in Scotland raising a baby, Victor stays behind and believes his wife used him to help her family steal. Ten years has passed and Victor finds himself in Scotland on behalf of Manton’s Investigations (The Dukes Men). He see’s Isa known to everyone as Mrs. Franke and he wants answers. Isa see’s Victor and she wants her own answers of why he never came for her. The story unfolds there and it is a courtship of reacquainting themselves with one another and realizing that their love is strong and it can only be broken if they doubt it. However, when the long lost relatives reappear things become dicey, especially when Isa and Victor’s daughter, Amelie is involved. Again, I love the plot of this story. There is a lot of action and the supporting cast is wonderful. Mary Grace and Rupert are scene stealers. I do hope to see them in the other books in this series.

As much as I loved the plot I did not feel the emotion in this story like I thought I would. I was expecting some heartrending scenes and I didn’t get them. I feel there could have been a bit more romance and emotion and it wasn’t there. It fell a bit flat for me. Since, I don’t want to give away too much I am going stop there.

I do recommend this book it was still a good read and I did enjoy the plot and characters.

Purchase this book and other books by Sabrina Jeffires on AMAZON and B&N.

-Romance Reader Girl

4 thoughts on “Review: When the Rogue Returns by Sabrina Jeffries

Leave a Reply

